The first round of finalists for the 2018 Northwest Football Awards has been announced, as the awards mark its eleventh year of recognising the best talent of the beautiful game in the region.

Finalists for the player categories will be announced on Tuesday, 16th October and fans can still cast their votes for their players of the season.

All awards will be announced and presented by the BBC’s Dan Walker at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 12th November.

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola, who led his team to a record-breaking 100 points, will face tough opposition from Wigan Athletic’s Paul Cook, Mickey Mellon from Tranmere Rovers and John Coleman of Accrington Stanley for the coveted Manager of the Year award.  The 2017/18 season was unprecedented for Northwest football, with managers from across all leagues achieving promotions and enjoying record seasons.

Additionally, a number of clubs will be competing for the fiercely contested Community Club of the Year categories, celebrating Clubs’ significant and important work in their communities. Going head-to-head in the Premier League category is Burnley FC in the Community, Everton in the Community and Manchester City Football Club – City in the Community.

In the all other leagues category, Blackburn Rovers Community Trust take on Bolton Wanderers Community Trust, Preston North End Community and Education Trust, Tranmere Rovers – More Than a Football Club and Wigan Athletic Community Trust.

Other clubs up for honours include, Manchester United Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Accrington Stanley Football Club and Bolton Wanderers Football Club.

Meanwhile, voting for the Player of the Year and Rising Star categories, along with the Fan TV Channel of the Year, remains open until Friday, 12th October.

Laura Wolfe, speaking on behalf of the Northwest Football Awards said, “This year saw our judging panels facing some really tough decisions.  The quality of the entries was hugely impressive, and the range of work carried out by the clubs in our regions continues to be an example for other clubs to follow.

“We are looking forward to an incredible night celebrating Northwest football on 12th November.”

Fans can still cast their votes now at:


Community Club of the Year – All Other Leagues, in association with the PFA

  • Blackburn Rovers Community Trust
  • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust
  • Preston North End Community and Education Trust
  • Tranmere Rovers – More Than a Football Club
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust

Community Club of the Year – Premier League, in association with the PFA

  • Burnley FC in the Community
  • Everton in the Community
  • Manchester City Football Club – City in the Community

Community Initiative of the Year, in association with the PFA

  • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust – Coaching 4 Confidence
  • Burnley FC in the Community – Whitehough Outdoor Centre
  • Everton Football Club – Home Is Where The Heart Is
  • Preston North End Community and Education Trust – The Greatest Ever Women’s Football Team: The Dick, Kerr Ladies
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust – Healthy Hearts

Promoting Inclusion Award, in association with Kick it Out

  • Bootle Bucks Inclusion FC
  • The Everton Family – Positively Promoting Equality and Diversity – Everton Football Club
  • #UnitedandMe – Manchester United Foundation
  • Wigan Athletic FC – Together

Business and Professional Services to Football

  • Niche Sport Media
  • RedStar Education Limited
  • StreamAMG

Best Club Marketing, Sponsorship or Engagement

  • Everton Football Club – Rovio and Everton Football Club
  • Liverpool Football Club – Kop Kids, presented by Joie – Mo Salah Prank
  • Tranmere Rovers – Super White Campaign
  • Wigan Athletic FC – Thousands or Journeys. One Destination.

Fabrice Muamba Award for Outstanding Service to Football Medicine and Performance

  • Paul Caton, Accrington Stanley FC
  • Matt Barrass, Bolton Wanderers Football Club
  • Grant Downie, Manchester City Football Club

Football Journalist of the Year

  • Ciaran Kelly, Manchester Evening News
  • Marc Iles, The Bolton News
  • Matt Scrafton, The Blackpool Gazette

Manager of the Year

  • John Coleman, Accrington Stanley Football Club
  • Pep Guardiola, Manchester City Football Club
  • John Askey, Macclesfield Town Club
  • Micky Mellon, Tranmere Rovers Football Club
  • Paul Cook, Wigan Athletic Football Club

To be revealed on the night

  • Unsung Hero
  • Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football
  • Impact Award

 Player of the Year and Fan TV

  • Finalists to be announced on Tuesday, 16th October.

For more information, to attend or to vote, please visit  Voting for all Player of the Year and Rising Star Award categories closes on Friday, 12th October.

PR & Media contact:

Alex Bell, Roland Dransfield

Email:    | Tel: +44(0) 161 236 1122

 About Northwest Football Awards

The Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) celebrates the region’s footballing elite and pays tribute to those who have achieved footballing excellence both on and off the field in the 2017/18 season. The Northwest Football Awards recognises football excellence from the Male and Women’s football leagues from the National League though to Premier League. More at

For further information about the awards or to attend, please contact Amy Beresford on 0161 246 6443 or email


Related Blogs

NWFA 2018 Finalists