Liverpool’s Mo Salah, World Cup hero Jordan Pickford, Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City, Nick Pope of Burnley and Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea make up the Premier League Player of the Year category, with a raft of other player categories also revealed

The finalists for the player categories at this year’s Northwest Football Awards (NWFAs) have been revealed. Fans around the world have been busy voting for their favourite Northwest based footballers following a riveting 2017-18 season.

This year’s NWFAs will be held at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, November 12 – with finalists in seven-player categories announced.

They include England World Cup hero and Everton goalkeeper Jordan Pickford who will go up against Liverpool star striker Mohamed Salah, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, Nick Pope of Burnley and Manchester United’s David De Gea in the Premier League Player of the Year category.

Jen Beattie of Manchester City battles Laura Coombs of Liverpool for this season’s Women’s Player of the Year accolade, with  Everton’s Angharad James,  Fylde Ladies  Jenna Carroll and Burnley’s Sarah Greenhalgh also in the running.

Returning this year will be the Fan TV Channel award which recognises the popularity of fan-based content. Full Time Devils, The Redmen TV and Toffee TV make the shortlist this year

These aren’t the only accolades up for grabs as the hottest talent in the Women’s game battle it out for the award of Women’s Rising Star of the Year. Including Ellie Roebuck of Manchester City, Faye Bryson of Everton and Niamh Charles of Liverpool from the Women’s Super league. Joining them in the shortlist for nominations is Fylde Ladies Sophie Charlton.

In the Championship category for the 2017-18 season, Bolton Wanderers’ goalkeeper Ben Alnwick goes head-to-head with Preston North End’s Alan Browne.

Hoping to follow in the footsteps of David Wheater, who won the League One Player of the Year accolade with newly promoted Bolton Wanderer’s last year, are Bradley Dack of Blackburn Rovers, Wigan Athletic’s Nathan Byrne, Oldham Athletic’s Dan Gardner and Rochdale’s Ian Henderson.

League Two Player of the Year will go to either Billy Kee, Jamie Devitt or Barry Roche.

Laura Wolfe, of the North West Football Awards, said: “Competition this year is high with a record number of votes received. All players, from The National League to the Premier League should be proud to have made it as far as the nominations stage, but we are thrilled to announce this year’s finalists.

All awards, including the coveted Manager of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement accolade, will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 12th November, hosted by the BBC’s Dan Walker.

View the NWFA 2018 Finalists here



Related Blogs

blog post 1