Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk, Bernardo Silva of Manchester City and Manchester United’s left back Luke Shaw make up the Premier League Player of the Season finalists’ category, with a raft of other player finalists also revealed.

The finalists for the player categories at this year’s Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) have been revealed.

This year’s awards will again be held at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday 11th November – with the finalists in nine categories being announced following votes being cast from fans across the world.

The finalists include Liverpool fan favourite Virgil Van Dijk and Manchester City midfielder Bernardo Silva, who will go up against Manchester United’s Luke Shaw for the coveted Player of the Season Award.

This season’s Women’s Player of the Season accolade returns with Fylde Ladies Laura Merrin making the shortlist alongside Manchester United’s Katie Zelem & and Manchester City’s Steph Houghton, with Liverpool’s Sophie-Bradley Auckland and Everton’s Simone Magill also in the running.

Also returning this year is the Fan TV Channel award, which will recognise the popularity of fan-based creative content. Finalists include MUFC Full Time Red Devils, Man City Superbia, Rovers Rear Guard, The Pie at Night and LFC The Redmen TV.

The Women’s Rising Star of the Season award returns this year – and finalists include Burnley FC’s Evie Priestley, Liverpool midfielder Amy Rodgers, Manchester City’s Georgia Stanway and Fylde’s Georgia Stevens.

In the Championship category for the 2018-2019 season, Blackburn Rovers’ Danny Graham goes up against Bolton Wanderers’ Gary O’Neil. They will battle it out against Preston North End’s Ben Davies & and Wigan Athletics’ Reece James for this year’s Ladbrokes NWFA Championship Player of the Season.

The Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards League One Player of the Season Award finalists include Rochdale’s Ian Henderson who will take on Fleetwood Town’s Wes Burns. Curtis Tilt of Blackpool FC and Accrington Stanley’s Sean McConville are also in contention for the accolade.

League Two Player of the Season will either go to Luke Conlan of Morecambe, Fiacre Kelleher of Macclesfield Town, Oldham Athletic’s Callum Lang or Scott Davies of Tranmere Rovers.

Danny Rowe of AFC Fylde will go head-to-head with Salford City’s Carl Piergianni for National League Player of the Season.

The Goal of the Season shortlist will be revealed on Monday, 4th November and voting will open the same day.

Laura Wolfe, of Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards, said: “The competition has been incredibly tough this year with a record number of votes. We are absolutely delighted to announce this year’s finalists. All those who were nominated should be proud to have made it to this stage with such a wide array of talent coming out of the region during the 2018-2019 football season.”

Further awards for Manager of the Season and the Lifetime Achievement accolade will be announced at the Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards on 11th November 2019.

To see the full list of Finalists click here

Related Blogs

2022 - Community Club of the Season AOL
NWFA22 Moment Of Season Finalists
eilidh barbour