Player of the Season nominations revealed for 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards

Posted by Laura Wolfe | September 17, 2019 | NWFA 2019, NWFA Blog

The nominations for the player of the season categories at the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards have been announced – and voting is now live.

Manchester United’s Luke Shaw, Bernardo Silva of Manchester City, Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk, Ashley Westwood of Burnley and Everton Football Club’s Lucas Digne will battle it out for the Premier League Player of the Season accolade.

In the Women’s Player of the Season, Burnley’s Sarah Greenhalgh, Jess Holbrook of Blackburn, Simone Magill of Everton, Laura Merrin of Fylde, Sophie Bradley-Auckland of Liverpool, Steph Houghton of Manchester City and Katie Zelem of Manchester United, have all been nominated.

Fans can now cast their votes ahead of the awards, which will be announced at the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, November 11.  

This year’s Awards marks the twelfth year of recognising the best talent of the beautiful game in the region.

The 2019 Championship Player of the Season will either be Danny Graham, Blackburn Rovers, Gary O’Neil of Bolton Wanderers, Preston North End’s Ben Davies or Wigan Athletic’s Reece James.

Sean McConville of Accrington Stanley, Blackpool’s Curtis Tilt, Wes Burns of Fleetwood Town and Rochdale’s Ian Henderson make the list for League One Player of the Season.

In the League Two Player of the Season category are Morecambe’s Luke Conlan, Macclesfield Town’s Fiacre Kelleher, Callum Lang of Oldham Athletic and Scott Davies of Tranmere Rovers.

The 2019 National League Player of the Season will be decided between Danny Rowe of AFC Fylde or Carl Piergianni of Salford City.

17 players have made the Rising Star list with current title holder Trent Alexander-Arnold again nominated alongside Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood, Wigan’s Recce James, Fleetwood Town’s Ash Hunter and Oldham Athletics’ George Edmundson amongst others.

The Women’s Rising Star nominees include; Jess Holbrook of Blackburn Rovers, Laura Merrin of Fylde Ladies, Evie Priestley of Burnley, Elise Hughes of Everton Football Club, Liverpool’s Amy Rodgers or Manchester City’s Georgia Stanway.

The ever-competitive Fan Media Channel category that was last year split by only one percent will be decided between; Full Time Devils, Man City Superbia, Rovers Rear Guard, The Pie at Night and The Redmen TV who are looking to defend their title for the third year in a row.

Cast your votes now: HERE.

For further information about the awards or to attend, please contact Amy Beresford on 0161 532 8596 or email

Related Blogs

Posted by laura-wolfe | November 12, 2019
Jurgen Klopp, Vincent Kompany, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Manchester City’s Steph Houghton MBE were among the big winners at last night’s Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards. The winners of the Ladbrokes Northwest...
Posted by laura-wolfe | October 15, 2019
Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk, Bernardo Silva of Manchester City and Manchester United’s left back Luke Shaw make up the Premier League Player of the Season finalists’ category, with a raft...
Posted by laura-wolfe | September 30, 2019
The first round of finalists for the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards have been announced. Recognising the best talent from across the beautiful game in the Northwest region, the 2019...