Posted by Amy Cannon | September 25, 2017 | NWFA Blog
Northwest Football Awards Gallery 2016

The finalists for the 2017 Northwest Football Awards have been announced, as the awards mark its tenth year of recognising the good, the great and the un-sung of the beautiful game in the region.

All awards will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November, hosted by the BBC’s Dan Walker.

Meanwhile, voting for the Player of the Year and Rising Star categories, along with the Fan TV Channel of the Year, remains open until Friday, 13th October.

Fans can still cast their votes now at:


Best Club Marketing, Sponsorship & Engagement

  • Everton Football Club – 2017/18 Season Ticket Campaign – One For All/All For One
  • Everton Football Club / IWF / KENYONS – See it Report it
  • Macclesfield Town Football Club – ‘We’re Going!’
  • Preston North End Football Club’s Generation Deepdale Campaign: Season Tickets 2017

Business and Professional Services to Football

  • Reading Room
  • Professional Football Scouts Association
  • Stream AMG – Media Platform

Kick It Out Promoting Inclusion Award

  • Ashton Town AFC – Mark Hayes
  • Cerebral Palsy United Football Club
  • Everton Football Club and Everton in the Community – Positively Promoting Equality and Diversity
  • Everycolour
  • Wigan Athletic Football Club – Together

Unsung Hero

  • Gordon Lawton, Oldham Athletic Football Club – posthumous nomination
  • The Inspired and Inspirational Lee, Everton Football Club

Fabrice Muamba Award for Outstanding Service to Football Medicine and Science

  • Alisdair Beattie, Burnley Football Club
  • Dr Ian Irvin, Everton Football Club
  • Grant Downie, Manchester City Academy Football Club

Manager of the Year

  • Gary Bowyer, Blackpool Football Club
  • José Mourinho, Manchester United Football Club
  • Phil Parkinson, Bolton Wanderers Football Club

Football Journalist of the Year

  • Alice McKeegan, Manchester Evening News
  • Daniel Taylor, The Guardian
  • Mike Keegan, The Daily Mail
  • Sarah Collins, BBC Radio Manchester

Community Club of the Year – Premier League

  • Burnley Football Club in the Community
  • Everton in the Community
  • Liverpool Football Club
  • Manchester City Football Club / City in the Community Foundation

Community Club of the Year – All other Leagues

  • Blackburn Rovers Community Trust
  • Preston North End Community and Education Trust
  • Tranmere Rovers in the Community
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust

Community Initiative of the Year

  • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust – Positive Chances
  • Everton in the Community – Imagine your Goals
  • Manchester City Football Club / City in the Community– City Health
  • Wigan Athletic Community Trust – 12th Man Health Champions

Laura Wolfe, managing director of Wolfesport and the Northwest Football Awards said:

“The Northwest Football Awards turns ten this year and has grown in popularity and influence year-on-year, due to its inclusive approach to the game in the region.

“This year we saw a record amount of entries, which gave the panel an exceptionally difficult task”

“To celebrate our tenth anniversary, we are delighted to announce a new very special award for 2017.

“The Northwest Football Awards Impact Award will honour and recognise an individual, a club, a team or an organisation that has made a significant positive impact on football in the region.

It is awarded to someone or something that has obviously delivered success on the pitch, but additionally, and just as importantly, given their time off the pitch and used their position to significantly contribute to and positively impact the wider community.”

 “We are really proud of the clubs, people and organisations in our region that are truly leading the way and setting an example for the rest of the UK, across both the men’s and women’s game.”


Related Blogs

Posted by laura-wolfe | September 17, 2019
The nominations for the player of the season categories at the 2019 Ladbrokes Northwest Football Awards have been announced – and voting is now live. Manchester United’s Luke Shaw, Bernardo...
Posted by amy-cannon | November 14, 2017
The winners of the hugely anticipated Leesa Northwest Football Awards 2017, recognising those who have achieved footballing excellence both on and off the pitch in the 2016/17 season, from both...
Posted by amy-cannon | November 10, 2017
In its tenth anniversary year, the Leesa Northwest Football Awards has announced the recipient of its inaugural Impact Award is James Milner. The new award recognises the significant positive impact...